Our Story

Our Story


The Slacks Creek Junior Cricket Club, established by Mr. Keith Brough in 1969, has a rich history and has come a long way since its inception. The club's journey began with its inaugural match on March 16, 1969, facing off against Woodridge on a turf wicket at Woodridge. In an exciting start, Slacks Creek emerged victorious, winning the match by 57 runs.

The club's early years saw it register two teams, one for players under 13 and another for under 16, in the Logan and Albert Junior Cricket Competition for the 1970-71 Season. Home games for the under 13 team were hosted at Slacks Creek State School, with a unique arrangement that allowed access in exchange for the club president's commitment to cover any potential property damage. Meanwhile, the under 16 team played their home games wherever they could secure a turf wicket, taking on opponents like Redlands, Eastern Suburbs, Waterford, Beenleigh, and Beaudesert. During this season, Keith Brough took on the roles of President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

The club's commitment and growth were evident, as Mrs. E.T. Law became the secretary at the 1971-72 annual general meeting. Mr. Keith Brough continued his presidency until 1977 and remained actively involved in club meetings until as late as 1980, when he was honored with a life membership in recognition of his outstanding service to the club and the sport.

The club maintained its format and competition structure until September 1973 when Zone 3 was formed. Slacks Creek entered two teams (under 12 and under 13) in the 1973-74 Zone 3 competition, which grew to three teams in the 1974-75 season. Later, the number was streamlined to two teams (under 12 and under 14) in the 1975-76 season.

In those early years, the club operated on a tight budget, with registration fees of $2 per player and a $10 cost for nominating a team in the Zone 3 competition. However, in the 1976-77 season, registration fees were raised to $3 per player, with match fees set at 50 cents per player per day.

Significant developments took place in the 1977-78 season, with the council's commencement of work on the usher park sporting complex. The club financed the laying of a concrete pitch and the top-dressing of the ground. This season also saw the club expand to four teams (under 12, under 13, under 14, and under 16), with membership fees increased to $5 per player and the adoption of the club constitution on August 9th, 1977.

In 1978-79, the club gained the use of the Loganholme State School oval, enabling further expansion to six teams, including an under 12, two under 13 teams, under 14, under 15, and under 17. The growth was supported by active fundraising and prudent financial management. In the following season, the club scaled back to five teams (under 11, under 12, under 13, under 14, and under 16).

The club's membership continued to swell, reaching ten teams for the 1980-81 season. For the first time, the club fielded an under 10 team, along with two under 11 teams, under 12, two under 13 teams, under 14, under 15, under 16, and under 17. Membership fees were increased to $8 per player. In February 1981, Kuraby Cricket Club was formed with former Slacks Creek President and Secretary Des Tate as its Secretary, impacting Slacks Creek's numbers for the 1981-82 season, reducing them to six teams: under 10, under 11, under 12, under 13, under 14, and under 16 and the loss

Over the years, the club's size fluctuated, but the commitment remained steadfast. By 1983-84, the club had six teams, and discussions began about merging with Springwood Invitation 11 (Senior Teams) and developing Homestead Park with two cricket ovals and two rugby union fields.

The 1985/86 season marked a significant turning point, with twelve junior teams merging with seniors and the construction of "the Bunker," affectionately known as the clubhouse.

In 1996, the club changed its name to Springwood Suns Cricket Club Inc. and merged the junior and senior committees, embarking on a journey to rebuild the club's finances.

In 2014, the club made strategic moves to secure more playing fields and facilities, including Oliver's Sports Complex in Eagleby. With community and council support, the club continued to thrive.

Over the years, the club achieved recognition and accolades. In 2017, the club was named Logan City Council Sports Organization of the Year, while individuals like Marion Young and Gary Young received recognition for their contributions.

In 2019, the club obtained a grant to upgrade field lighting, facilitating night-time cricket and promoting girls and ladies' cricket. With 12 junior teams, 5 senior teams, and 60 junior and master blaster players, the club continued to flourish.

Today, the Springwood Suns Cricket Club stands as a testament to the enduring spirit and passion of its founders and members, showcasing the remarkable journey from its humble beginnings to a thriving community cricket organization.